HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Linus Tech Tips

Are phones ONLY about Style now? - Oppo Find X Review

28924 ratings | 870234 views
Canadians! Hit up Memory Express for your electronic needs: http://geni.us/memoryexpress Buy noblechairs ICON Series Real Leather Gaming Chair on Amazon at http://geni.us/IFow Discuss on the forum: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/978154-are-phones-only-about-style-now/ Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors Linus Tech Tips merchandise at http://www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/ Linus Tech Tips posters at http://crowdmade.com/linustechtips Our Test Benches on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips Our production gear: http://geni.us/cvOS Twitter - https://twitter.com/linustech Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/LinusTech Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/linustech Twitch - https://www.twitch.tv/linustech Intro Screen Music Credit: Title: Laszlo - Supernova Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKfxmFU3lWY iTunes Download Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712 Artist Link: https://soundcloud.com/laszlomusic Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High http://www.youtube.com/approachingnirvana Sound effects provided by http://www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (4055)
yazad pardiwala (5 days ago)
"Is it any good, or are we expected to pay 1000$ for a fashion statement?" All macbook fanboys-yes
Benjamin Leong (5 days ago)
I don't think always on display and wireless charging is necessary. It's just more convenient, that's all. Wireless charger Still degrades like a regular charger.
M D (10 days ago)
Hey dude worry less about opinionated cell phone reviews and do something about that Whiney fucking annoying voice..... get your fucking money up and have 2 phones.... one oppo find x and one iPhone xsmax and take your note nine and Chinese in laws and go fuck yourselves
M D (10 days ago)
Carl Lee thank you finally for an informed opinion.... I wish you did this video because this kids voice is making me want to literally reach through my phone and choke the life out of him......
Brandon Widner (16 days ago)
I've been able to change 90% of the stuff he complained about either in settings or developer mode. Of course I have the Chinese ROM and only paid $600 us dollars new. My only complaints so far (only having this phone 3 days now) is not water resistant, SD card slot, head phone jack (but hell apple never had those two and everyone loves them) can't get the voice assistant to English and the magazine (lock screen) converted to English. Other than that, love the phone especially to have a simple Android skin.
Angus Lee (18 days ago)
If you think this is the best smartphone ever,is it durable or not ? If it's not,I'm not buying it
M. T. (25 days ago)
“Okay lest get to the good stuff.....NOTHING” I laughed until I figured out he wasn’t saying there was nothing good
Type Type (26 days ago)
W
Rod Peddle (27 days ago)
Thanks Linus, I was ready to buy this phone! I'm glad I watched this first because I just sent the Nubia X back for the same reason (Not getting notifications). Thank You! Not going with Note 9 though :(
Neil Parmar (1 month ago)
4 months later and my Oppo Find X is still amazing.
Koon Jay (1 month ago)
I avoid Chinese products cox belongs to corrupt Chinese governors n hack for sure
Shadan Q (1 month ago)
They need to use a similar design for the one plus 7 with the slider although preferably a manual one
Evilo Lio (1 month ago)
6:30 isn't that the g70 didn't expect to see one at Linus media group
DASO MILITIA (1 month ago)
get a pocophone
Tuo Jiang (1 month ago)
its design is still good
Arad Fathalian (1 month ago)
Oppo find X could also mean that when you find the X on a treasure map you find the Oppo find X
luigi67905 (1 month ago)
I have an oppo find x and it does have wake on lift you just gotta turn it on in settings
ciprian ivan (1 month ago)
Beauty than s10
W B (1 month ago)
Get a note 9 instead of a find x? Why? They're 500 quid different in price fgs.
You saved me from buying this phone. Thanks!
Jim Christl (1 month ago)
Its junk
cubeover (1 month ago)
Samsung in the way, she moves...
YOU-5-IVER (2 months ago)
Zack from JerryRig killed this phone. Literally, has the worst durability, GO FOR VIVO NEX S!
Espurrrxd (2 months ago)
Yes
BOX (2 months ago)
1:25-1:30 "First, let's get to the good stuff. Nothing." There. Saved you 8 mins of your life.
Matthew Hefner (2 months ago)
Brutal.
Justin Farias (2 months ago)
this dude is an idiot talking bad about a phone that's not even fully out yet maybe the thing werent working right cause it's in development mode still instead of nitpicking at its faults cause there are gonna be some since it is not fully ready tell us what's good about it an no one uses hangouts
Takeyoshi Yokoda (2 months ago)
'Til I saw the durability test.
TomahokYoutube (2 months ago)
Ugh that background music was very annoying.
turtledude27 (2 months ago)
Hangouts??? Are you effing kidding??? Lol.
Will Kelly (2 months ago)
Take out those faggy earrings
Zachary Doering (2 months ago)
So, let me get this straight a company who made amazing blu-ray/DACs players kills those to make mediocre phones? Then, on the mediocre phone, they don't even put one of their nice DACs they are famous for with a headphone jack? why OPPO Why?
Modified Gaming (2 months ago)
An honor 9 lite is better 😂that's way cheaper
Mrdean89 (2 months ago)
Did you not know it's not for u.s market
yoshi doshi (2 months ago)
Look at Oppo R17 Line instead of hating the Find X flagship. Mini jack, fingerprint underdisplay, a 6.4 Amoled display and a tiny Small drop for 300euros. Oppo isn't only the Find X model. One plus is also an Oppo brand.
Bro Den (2 months ago)
The background music is very nice, what is it? I want it ..
Insom Gamerz (3 months ago)
why the hell are u so fake and make stupid faces??? You are just demotivating other people not to buy the phone.. You are just lucky that youtube is there to feed you bcoz you dont have enough talent and caliber to make your own goddamn phone. do you??? The Answer is nooooo. And yeah Youtube is going to end soon
FMA Amyar (3 months ago)
Can i ask why do you always dislike every phone when it’s says on the title Nothing personal iam just asking Don’t hate
Ardent Shrew (3 months ago)
Your squeaky nasal American voice is so annoying.
Clay3613 (3 months ago)
Fucking Oppo, abandoning the home theater market to make crappy overpriced phones.
Gaitonde's Tech (3 months ago)
After roasting an oppo smartphone..........suggests samsung's latest flagship.....got to mean dat gordon ramsay of tech has his choices extremely right
Jas0nXXV0rh33s (3 months ago)
I've had an oppo r11s plus for a year or two now and I still never receive snapchat notifications until I launch the app lmao
Shae Winchester (3 months ago)
IT DOESNT HAVE A HEADPHONE JACK??? fuck it, keeping my note 8.
Team Pascal (3 months ago)
The s9 is sexy too
David Lim (3 months ago)
I'm happy with my POCOPHONE F1 phone ya. 😏
awsome modder (3 months ago)
Can you do HDMI out with a adaptor?
kaiden nailer (3 months ago)
i have the oppo ax5 and its really good so im thinking oppo is just trying to make a phone that no one has ever seen and it is a first of its kind
Bryan Valladoid (3 months ago)
Does it have a headphone jack? I missed it if he said so.
akex005 (3 months ago)
5:12 same with my vivo x21....
King JellyGuy (3 months ago)
I have this phone and what the actual fck are you talking about?! Sorry for my language but most of the problems you said don't even exist on this phone. There are only one or two problems that i can confirm and thats the problem with setting apps to sleep. But i had no problem with netflix and it does have an always on display and so on
King JellyGuy (3 months ago)
I'm watching this on an Oppo Find X
Sarah Garlinghouse (3 months ago)
I just got my note 9 I was a apple user I don't believe I will ever go back to apple! And ya the note 9 is great
Velocity Gaming (3 months ago)
Who do you support Linus PewDiePie or T-series
Weston Thomas (3 months ago)
Yet another proof of concept that will be market ready in a few years and countless brand loyalists will argue "Oppo did it first"
John Phillips (3 months ago)
>1080p not 1440p >Netflix can't download via PlayStore and no HDR Netflix >shitty UI >Less visible text >No wireless charging >Shit you'd expect from a mid-tier (like crap vibrate motor and less flagship features) >single speaker >>>No headphone jack *REEEEEEEeeeeeee*
Sean Vargas (3 months ago)
I should love this phone but the OS looks like complete ass
WayRock James (3 months ago)
I got a note 9 and after watching a bunch of videos, im glad I got a note, nothing brings me more joy than a phone tha doesn't have any problems or weird stuff happing or trying to cut corners and give a bigger screen instead of have a phone that's cost so much and a note 9 is the same prices but oppo tries to sell u pretty on the outside but not on the inside, I wrote this with my note 9 pen and it converted it to words that I wrote and placed here, thank goodness coz my handwriting is bad.
ViS HhNU (3 months ago)
Apple tech tips 😂😂
Sohaib CR7 (3 months ago)
Ur review sucks ,I think u take a money from Samsung to say bad things about oppo or chinese companies 🤪
Simon Gomez (3 months ago)
Nice phone, operating system is like Miui, Zui, Emui and so on. They are great "if" you spend time configuring permissions for apps and notifications, very battery efficient and safe. By default normally they are very restrictive about apps permissions and can give you headache configuring. I prefere to install on this type of phones systems like Lineage OS, AEX, Ressurection Remix, etc... IF AVAILABLE. If not, its a matter of time. Im my case, for less than 250 usd i bought a Lenovo ZUK Z2 Pro 2 years ago at Geargest (Snapdragon 820, SuperAmoled, 6Gb RAM, 128 ROM, lots of sensors like IR or heartbeat, etc.) and actually im using Lineage OS 15.1 (Android 8.1). Android 9 is available too for this phone but still beta, but soon will be stable. I wan to say that if the phone has good hardware, decent build quality and a nice price, for sure there will be a big community behind sooner or later. So you will be able to install custom roms on it. Cheers.
Team Pascal (3 months ago)
Eww emui. Emui is literally one of the worst and ugliest launchers in the world. The top 5 worst are miui, coloros, lg's, emui, microsoft launcher and iPhone X Launcher
iMiguelAOG (3 months ago)
Oppo really has lost it. The Find 7 was an amazing phone going toe to toe with the best out there, and now, even though the design is amazing, it seems like they just dropped everything. All the good features.
Will Tadlock (4 months ago)
This is the worsesses girlyman ive ever watched. Canada lol!!! He has to press a whole icon. What a loser
zephyR (4 months ago)
Now i'm grateful i chose the note9 😂, was considering the find x
99Wins (4 months ago)
Try the Vivo Nex S. It has more features, like a headphone jack, and another Bixby called Jovi
Jpmann97 _ (4 months ago)
Same problem with my R9s, there are times when I don't receive whatsapp messages unless I open the app 😑
Matìas Font (4 months ago)
You are a iphone fanboy
salty boi romania (4 months ago)
I thought that when he said nothing,he meant that nothing was good about the phone.weird flex but ok.
Mob (4 months ago)
But how much does it take to repair???
Li (4 months ago)
Saskatoon? Nice :).
Kiran Kk (4 months ago)
Can you do a review on pocophone ???
LiK (4 months ago)
Doesn’t matter how good the hardware is if the software is trash.
RED QUESTION MARK (4 months ago)
Good question.
Hasim 030 (4 months ago)
Poopoo
Ronson Hmar (4 months ago)
You called that's a review? Hahaahaha.... Why didn't you mention SUPERVOOC?
Kuru (4 months ago)
I wanna have a phone
jz35 (4 months ago)
i,d bet a million bucks case manufacturers hate this thing with its pop up bit, specially rugged case makers
Sourav Mukim (4 months ago)
Then I checked your other videos, it became very evident that you are reviewer with a lot of prejudice. Clearly you need to contemplate if you should really go forward with reviewing phones when you already have your opinions skewed on one phone.
Sourav Mukim (4 months ago)
Somehow any positives literally hurt you, but any negatives are so exaggerated by you. I you do the same with the gold standard shit apple launched recently.
Asad abdiwahab (4 months ago)
because of that DEAD JOKE in the end u have my LIKE n subscription .
Running Panda (4 months ago)
So....sexy looking, but rubbish usability...
Vincent Rubens (4 months ago)
Does the Oppo Find X have an "iManager" app (like in the Vivo Nex) that allows you to change app settings (auto start, allow notifications, stay in background)? This drove me nuts with the Vivo Nex until I figured out how to manually modify my settings. I also struggled with my Gear Watch, with how the bluetooth would disconnect after the app was killed off by Vivo's funtouch settings.
Damola Alabi (4 months ago)
6:29 That Genesis looks gorgeous in that color. Sheesh. #CarPorn
Pocophone f1
Gábor Gulyás (4 months ago)
expert, who can't figure it out how to unlock the phone without swiping
Kimi (4 months ago)
My oppo phone god knows what model is it.... It also shutdown apps in the background... and there's no way to change it... and worse of all i don't think oppo will be pushing updates for my phone model either
Draco Shooter (4 months ago)
It's a goddamned fingerprint magnet
New Accaunt (4 months ago)
why is note 9 better than find x??
xorkatoss (4 months ago)
lol the oppo find x is missing so many stuff...how much of the budget was wasted on the motor for the camera? motor and camera alone must be the 500euro of the 1000price tag lol...
I watched Jerry Rig Everything's video on this and it basically breaks in half hella easy.
The Batman (4 months ago)
so i got an 8 minute samsung ad .....
YTBrowny (4 months ago)
It does have always on display. I have my time on all the time, you can also turn lift to wake on, but not with always on display. You can chose one or the other, this is on the Aus model. I've also had no issues with my notifications, there's an "intelligent" battery saver mode on a per app basis you can turn on and off, turn it off for your messaging apps and social apps and you're good to go
H Cabrera1977 (4 months ago)
There's actually "raise to wake" and "AOD" but you have to find it in there confusing as hell settings menu. I'm on my 2nd Find X by the way....
POPO KOWALSKI (4 months ago)
Get a global version boi you will see.
Joel Diaz (5 months ago)
You know what's not $1000? The Mk 7.5 stage 2 Golf R
Patrick Ultra (5 months ago)
So it’s nice glass?
Nefff (5 months ago)
You can make Oppo Find X a million times better with a stock android custom ROM when that's made by our lovely community or just install google launcher and boom!
Nefff (5 months ago)
It's so scary how innovative chinese phones are... I'm mean just look at that thing and now compare this to the iphones. I can see now, china is the future of this world.
daniyal k (5 months ago)
You're good at trolling "Let's talk the good stuff about this phone *Nothing* This phone is like nothing I've ever touched Lol
i do agree since i have it BUT the note 9 ? that oldy style ? nooo thanks i got most of the issues fix with the oppo notifications, permisions its easy just install google cliente and you get rip of every chinese thing, now vaibration its a problem ? come one is that even a issue ? and the only thing thay i didnt agree with are the speakers it sounds GREAT not too clear but that thing it's loud.... oo and something else Netflix ? i watch movies for free on the internet full hd no hdr but good enough.
Holmes (5 months ago)
what would you say for someone not looking to use hangouts or Netflix? I don't use very much space and don't need always on displays, I noticed this was a lot of your gripes on the phone but for someone like me would you suggest it or would your review stay the same?

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.