HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Linus Tech Tips

Are phones ONLY about Style now? - Oppo Find X Review

28330 ratings | 832982 views
Canadians! Hit up Memory Express for your electronic needs: http://geni.us/memoryexpress Buy noblechairs ICON Series Real Leather Gaming Chair on Amazon at http://geni.us/IFow Discuss on the forum: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/978154-are-phones-only-about-style-now/ Our Affiliates, Referral Programs, and Sponsors: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/75969-linus-tech-tips-affiliates-referral-programs-and-sponsors Linus Tech Tips merchandise at http://www.designbyhumans.com/shop/LinusTechTips/ Linus Tech Tips posters at http://crowdmade.com/linustechtips Our Test Benches on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/shop/linustechtips Our production gear: http://geni.us/cvOS Twitter - https://twitter.com/linustech Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/LinusTech Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/linustech Twitch - https://www.twitch.tv/linustech Intro Screen Music Credit: Title: Laszlo - Supernova Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKfxmFU3lWY iTunes Download Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/supernova/id936805712 Artist Link: https://soundcloud.com/laszlomusic Outro Screen Music Credit: Approaching Nirvana - Sugar High http://www.youtube.com/approachingnirvana Sound effects provided by http://www.freesfx.co.uk/sfx/
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (3989)
Team Pascal (4 hours ago)
The s9 is sexy too
David Lim (9 hours ago)
I'm happy with my POCOPHONE F1 phone ya. 😏
awsome modder (3 days ago)
Can you do HDMI out with a adaptor?
Livin Vidz (3 days ago)
Actually even on the iPhone X on GMAIL I do not get notifications until I open it. I turned off all notifications for it EXCEPT icon badges (the ones that show how many new emails you have) so maybe that is why. But what i mean is that i get a new email and the icon does not show an increase in new emails.
kaiden nailer (4 days ago)
i have the oppo ax5 and its really good so im thinking oppo is just trying to make a phone that no one has ever seen and it is a first of its kind
Bryan Valladoid (4 days ago)
Does it have a headphone jack? I missed it if he said so.
akex005 (4 days ago)
5:12 same with my vivo x21....
JadeX Lol (5 days ago)
0:14 "Daily driver" Sees note 9 in back pocket.
King JellyGuy (5 days ago)
I have this phone and what the actual fck are you talking about?! Sorry for my language but most of the problems you said don't even exist on this phone. There are only one or two problems that i can confirm and thats the problem with setting apps to sleep. But i had no problem with netflix and it does have an always on display and so on
King JellyGuy (5 days ago)
I'm watching this on an Oppo Find X
Sarah Garlinghouse (6 days ago)
I just got my note 9 I was a apple user I don't believe I will ever go back to apple! And ya the note 9 is great
Velocity Gaming (6 days ago)
Who do you support Linus PewDiePie or T-series
Sekai Raita (6 days ago)
Yet another proof of concept that will be market ready in a few years and countless brand loyalists will argue "Oppo did it first"
PRIVATE INFO (6 days ago)
Is a notch stylus?
John Phillips (8 days ago)
>1080p not 1440p >Netflix can't download via PlayStore and no HDR Netflix >shitty UI >Less visible text >No wireless charging >Shit you'd expect from a mid-tier (like crap vibrate motor and less flagship features) >single speaker >>>No headphone jack *REEEEEEEeeeeeee*
Sean Vargas (9 days ago)
I should love this phone but the OS looks like complete ass
WayRock James (11 days ago)
I got a note 9 and after watching a bunch of videos, im glad I got a note, nothing brings me more joy than a phone tha doesn't have any problems or weird stuff happing or trying to cut corners and give a bigger screen instead of have a phone that's cost so much and a note 9 is the same prices but oppo tries to sell u pretty on the outside but not on the inside, I wrote this with my note 9 pen and it converted it to words that I wrote and placed here, thank goodness coz my handwriting is bad.
ViS HhNU (13 days ago)
Apple tech tips 😂😂
Incredible Editor (14 days ago)
Ur review sucks ,I think u take a money from Samsung to say bad things about oppo or chinese companies 🤪
Simon Gomez (16 days ago)
Nice phone, operating system is like Miui, Zui, Emui and so on. They are great "if" you spend time configuring permissions for apps and notifications, very battery efficient and safe. By default normally they are very restrictive about apps permissions and can give you headache configuring. I prefere to install on this type of phones systems like Lineage OS, AEX, Ressurection Remix, etc... IF AVAILABLE. If not, its a matter of time. Im my case, for less than 250 usd i bought a Lenovo ZUK Z2 Pro 2 years ago at Geargest (Snapdragon 820, SuperAmoled, 6Gb RAM, 128 ROM, lots of sensors like IR or heartbeat, etc.) and actually im using Lineage OS 15.1 (Android 8.1). Android 9 is available too for this phone but still beta, but soon will be stable. I wan to say that if the phone has good hardware, decent build quality and a nice price, for sure there will be a big community behind sooner or later. So you will be able to install custom roms on it. Cheers.
Team Pascal (4 hours ago)
Eww emui. Emui is literally one of the worst and ugliest launchers in the world. The top 5 worst are miui, coloros, lg's, emui, microsoft launcher and iPhone X Launcher
iMiguelAOG (18 days ago)
Oppo really has lost it. The Find 7 was an amazing phone going toe to toe with the best out there, and now, even though the design is amazing, it seems like they just dropped everything. All the good features.
Will Tadlock (21 days ago)
This is the worsesses girlyman ive ever watched. Canada lol!!! He has to press a whole icon. What a loser
zephyR (22 days ago)
Now i'm grateful i chose the note9 😂, was considering the find x
99Wins (23 days ago)
Try the Vivo Nex S. It has more features, like a headphone jack, and another Bixby called Jovi
Jpmann97 _ (25 days ago)
Same problem with my R9s, there are times when I don't receive whatsapp messages unless I open the app 😑
Matìas Font (1 month ago)
You are a iphone fanboy
salty boi romania (1 month ago)
I thought that when he said nothing,he meant that nothing was good about the phone.weird flex but ok.
Mob (1 month ago)
But how much does it take to repair???
Li (1 month ago)
Saskatoon? Nice :).
Kiran Kk (1 month ago)
Can you do a review on pocophone ???
LiK (1 month ago)
Doesn’t matter how good the hardware is if the software is trash.
RED QUESTION MARK (1 month ago)
Good question.
Hasim 030 (1 month ago)
Poopoo
Ronson Hmar (1 month ago)
You called that's a review? Hahaahaha.... Why didn't you mention SUPERVOOC?
Kir Kazehaya (1 month ago)
I wanna have a phone
jz35 (1 month ago)
i,d bet a million bucks case manufacturers hate this thing with its pop up bit, specially rugged case makers
Sourav Mukim (1 month ago)
Then I checked your other videos, it became very evident that you are reviewer with a lot of prejudice. Clearly you need to contemplate if you should really go forward with reviewing phones when you already have your opinions skewed on one phone.
Sourav Mukim (1 month ago)
Somehow any positives literally hurt you, but any negatives are so exaggerated by you. I you do the same with the gold standard shit apple launched recently.
Asad abdiwahab (1 month ago)
because of that DEAD JOKE in the end u have my LIKE n subscription .
George Dai (1 month ago)
So....sexy looking, but rubbish usability...
Vincent Rubens (1 month ago)
Does the Oppo Find X have an "iManager" app (like in the Vivo Nex) that allows you to change app settings (auto start, allow notifications, stay in background)? This drove me nuts with the Vivo Nex until I figured out how to manually modify my settings. I also struggled with my Gear Watch, with how the bluetooth would disconnect after the app was killed off by Vivo's funtouch settings.
Damola Alabi (1 month ago)
6:29 That Genesis looks gorgeous in that color. Sheesh. #CarPorn
Eujean Yu (1 month ago)
Pocophone f1
Gábor Gulyás (1 month ago)
expert, who can't figure it out how to unlock the phone without swiping
Kimi (1 month ago)
My oppo phone god knows what model is it.... It also shutdown apps in the background... and there's no way to change it... and worse of all i don't think oppo will be pushing updates for my phone model either
Draco Shooter (1 month ago)
It's a goddamned fingerprint magnet
New Accaunt (1 month ago)
why is note 9 better than find x??
xorkatoss (1 month ago)
lol the oppo find x is missing so many stuff...how much of the budget was wasted on the motor for the camera? motor and camera alone must be the 500euro of the 1000price tag lol...
I watched Jerry Rig Everything's video on this and it basically breaks in half hella easy.
The Batman (1 month ago)
so i got an 8 minute samsung ad .....
YTBrowny (1 month ago)
It does have always on display. I have my time on all the time, you can also turn lift to wake on, but not with always on display. You can chose one or the other, this is on the Aus model. I've also had no issues with my notifications, there's an "intelligent" battery saver mode on a per app basis you can turn on and off, turn it off for your messaging apps and social apps and you're good to go
H Cabrera1977 (1 month ago)
There's actually "raise to wake" and "AOD" but you have to find it in there confusing as hell settings menu. I'm on my 2nd Find X by the way....
POPO KOWALSKI (1 month ago)
Get a global version boi you will see.
Joel Diaz (1 month ago)
You know what's not $1000? The Mk 7.5 stage 2 Golf R
Patrick Ultra (1 month ago)
So it’s nice glass?
Nefff (1 month ago)
You can make Oppo Find X a million times better with a stock android custom ROM when that's made by our lovely community or just install google launcher and boom!
Nefff (1 month ago)
It's so scary how innovative chinese phones are... I'm mean just look at that thing and now compare this to the iphones. I can see now, china is the future of this world.
daniyal k (1 month ago)
You're good at trolling "Let's talk the good stuff about this phone *Nothing* This phone is like nothing I've ever touched Lol
i do agree since i have it BUT the note 9 ? that oldy style ? nooo thanks i got most of the issues fix with the oppo notifications, permisions its easy just install google cliente and you get rip of every chinese thing, now vaibration its a problem ? come one is that even a issue ? and the only thing thay i didnt agree with are the speakers it sounds GREAT not too clear but that thing it's loud.... oo and something else Netflix ? i watch movies for free on the internet full hd no hdr but good enough.
Holmes (1 month ago)
what would you say for someone not looking to use hangouts or Netflix? I don't use very much space and don't need always on displays, I noticed this was a lot of your gripes on the phone but for someone like me would you suggest it or would your review stay the same?
XavierMisbehaviour (1 month ago)
in Aussie land, we get for $1099 AUD which is $778 us
PHeMoX (1 month ago)
As for the Note 9.. yes, great phone, but I'd argue even the Note 8 is better than this Oppo Find X in basically every way.
PHeMoX (1 month ago)
Switching haptic feedback off because it is just not an iPhone? Wow... you're such an idiot.
Planarian 17 (1 month ago)
Fingerprints MAGNET.
Juan Cacatzun (1 month ago)
Chill out.It hasn't came out yet
mrjinkorea (1 month ago)
Okay, definitely crossing this phone off my wish list! Thanks for this brutally honest review!
Pravesh Bhandari (1 month ago)
"GAMING CHAIR" HE SAYS!
kharil hasan (1 month ago)
Will wait for the 3rd iteration review then.
The best smartphone review vid I've ever seen!
Shay Usu (1 month ago)
It looks fantastic. But.... It breaks amazingly easily.
Adewuyi Adeleye (1 month ago)
Very straight forward and savage, I always look forward to your reviews
Zhiguang Hu (1 month ago)
you didn't get your notification because it is a Chinese phone without google services!!! hahah I got the same issue when I try to use a Chinese version Samsung S7 in the US
Adam (1 month ago)
LG's haptic feedback on new devices is impressive, same with Pixel's. Btw the deal-breaker on this guy is the inability to use a custom launcher consistently.
Sidney Custer (1 month ago)
Shooter: nobody cares. lol nice one!
Franonymous (1 month ago)
Is it just me or Linus looks like he bottled up crippling depression?
LIVESH (1 month ago)
I honestly feel the solution to notchless is to have a small screen at the back of ur phone to take selfie.. In that way u do not need a front facing camera.. Cuz now u have a back facing screen. And this screen can disappear when
Cafe Latte (2 months ago)
Very bad review
silvano wicki (2 months ago)
By the way: It has allways On Display It has Wake On Lift It has double Tab Wake Screen It has directly Face unlock without swipe It has the option to directly start the Camera on Screen Off whith the "Screen off gestures" ...but everything not by defult and its not that easy to find some of them and I really like the vibration motor, best i ever had in a Phone in my opineon
silvano wicki (2 months ago)
Solution for Background Data blocking (for Whatsapp in my Reason) : Do this, first need to ensure the app you want notifications from is open, then open the multi-tasking menu (the square next to the home button in other Oppo Devices). Scroll to the app (Whatsapp), and then swipe down on it. This will place a lock icon in the top left hand corner, and prevent battery management from shutting it down. You'll also want to double check battery management settings for the app: Open Settings Tap on Battery Tap on Energy Saver Tap on the app you're after Ensure that Background Freeze, Abnormal App Optimisation, and Doze are all switched to off Additional i did: Long Tab on App (whatsapp) Tab App info, Tab Power Saving klick Tab Allow Backbround Running and Allow Auto Startup Just dont kill the App manually in the Multi-tasking menu (Lock is gone) then it should work
Goodborn (2 months ago)
One of the most unprofessional reviews you have done my friend, too lazy to list all of the reasons, but just one heads up the phone is still in developmen. But I guess you guys have to watch Unbox Therapy
Toby Manuguid (2 months ago)
He just hates Chinese phone or budget phones in particular because his an apple whore,try watching unboxing therapy he'll do fair review all accross all phone from budget to premium but Linus will find a "fault" to budget phones because he hates those but when he review premium phones all you'll hear are good things especially apple because his an apple whore
Toby Manuguid (1 month ago)
I'd rather just watch Mr. mobile or unboxtherapy for review, because they do fair review unlike linus that gets disgusted by budget phones, i tell you all you'll hear from him is "this phone is blah blah blah compared to iphone blah blah .." i tell you linus is an impartial jerk i don't know why he hit the 7M subscriber mark
Delain124 (1 month ago)
Mrmoblie also did not like the phone for some of the same reasons.
EntertainAustralia (2 months ago)
I've had it now for over a month and I can tell you that 90 percent of what he is saying is a straight up lie. This is THE BEST smart phone I have ever owned. I'm so convinced that he is being paid to put this down, I've unsubscribed from the channel. After this, he can't be trusted.
Runvald Darkstone (2 months ago)
Or ... if you are on a budget try to get an S8 or S9 plus from Homtom.These are heavy but do the job perfectly.
Jason Scalzo (2 months ago)
I think it's ugly
Frederic Merle (2 months ago)
Keep up the amazing reviews Linus!
Muhammad Aamir (2 months ago)
reviews like this are the reason no one can beat Linus in tech reviews...
Trump Lord (2 months ago)
u want google apps work well on a chinese phone?! That is ridiculous! LOL.A kid which is 7 years old knows u can not use google in china.This phone designed for chinese!They can not make another system for u! And everyone in china knows oppo and vivo they r garbage. U can not take metro and buses in shanghai without nfc. This phone is just like a joke.
mike28723 (2 months ago)
I used 2 have a similar problem with my Nokia 7 What you need to do to fix the notifications is add exceptions for the concerned application in the battery optimization menu. It worked for my Nokia 7. Hope This Helps !!
Rj Morales (2 months ago)
Hahaha ... watching this on my note 9
Max Hideki (2 months ago)
i thing whit the same money for iphone you can buy beter phone that i phones.Lot of companis make realy good phones . Ogly i phone that i have buy is was iphone 4 whit 150e in my local super market but i sell it after 1 month to my dad for 50e becose i was thing that i don t need .Then i buy i phone 6 for secon hard shop whit 100e but i sell is after 1 month 100e in some radom guy .this days i use some old nokia .but i use for internet tablet lenovo joga .
Ziqka Malik (2 months ago)
always on display u can find on display and screen clock.. the clock is changing their position every minute.. to minimize the shadows effect.. because it amoled display
Cliente Promedio (2 months ago)
This review was so SAVAGE hahaha that I appreciate it. I'm a Samsung fan and fell in love for the Oppo design... guess I should stay with Samsung since Oppo and Pixel designs suck this year :(
karvaperse (2 months ago)
Are phones ONLY about Hustle now?
Steve (2 months ago)
Linus sponsor ads comes out of nowhere
Vin Crafter (2 months ago)
who uses hangouts even
D D (2 months ago)
Do an LG G7 review
ezar howard (2 months ago)
Cellphones /smartphones were always about style until recently now that most phones look the same. I'm glad the Chinese are pushing the boundaries and bringing back that feeling of wanting a phone because its simply not like any other.
gameflux (2 months ago)
No thank you !
Nicholas Jeremy (2 months ago)
I'm more interested in that headphones to the left, what is it HAHA
Gyengye Gabor (2 months ago)
WHAT STYLE ? They are all the same !

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.