HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: musicmaniac1965

powerdrift - SEGA AGES - sega saturn - review

42 ratings | 7548 views
my third SEGA AGES review is about powerdrift. big sprites, bold graphics, speedy and smooth gameplay, and a ton of track. this game is, just like outrun, sega at what they do best: releasing blockbuster games for the arcade hall.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (57)
referral madness (1 year ago)
I don;t understand why the arcade and saturn versions were never released in the west
musicmaniac1965 (1 year ago)
The arcade version had been released in the Netherlands, as i've played it at Hommersons arcade at Scheveningen, but indeed, we never had the Saturn version. I bought the import version and used a Datel convertor to be able to play this.
Antonio Alicea (2 years ago)
Thankx for this video! I loved this game growing up. Good Times!
Damn, very impressive, I have never seen a game use sprites quite like that, a 3d world where everything is filled with scalable sprites, insane. The game workd itself must be 3d as you can ascend and decend, unlike games such as outrun. Even from a modern gamers perspective ( I am 18) that is impressive. Nice video by the way ;)
musicmaniac1965 (2 years ago)
Nice to see the jounger generation gamers also being able to enjoy and even be impressed by gaming technology of yesteryear. You are so right, those sprite scaling games where made with 3D in mind. In serveral interviews with M2, the creators from all those awesome 3D conversion on the Nintendo 3DS, they told all those sprite scalers allready had X, Y, Z, parameters in the games, so adding the 3D was relatively easy as the system always knows how close a sprite is to the screen. Even OutRun had those parameters allready, but indeed, in this game it looks even more obvious due to the rollercoaster like design of the tracks! I can't wait for this game to finaly get a release date from Sega, as it is confirmed that the latest 3D collection will also be released in Europe!
dave4shmups (2 years ago)
Nice review! Can you play this game with the regular Saturn controller, or do you need a steering wheel controller to play it?
dave4shmups (2 years ago)
OK, thanks!  As long as it plays well without having to buy a driving controller, that's good enough for me!
musicmaniac1965 (2 years ago)
+David Halligan You can play this with the regular controller, or you can choose to use the analogue "Knights into dreams" pad, i prefer to use that one, but all saturn controllers works just fine on those games.
Pondering Ghost (3 years ago)
Thanks for showing off this Sega Saturn port & thank you for your review.
musicmaniac1965 (6 years ago)
Glad you liked it. I love this game as well. I like all the sprite scaler games from Sega.
DjClimamusic (6 years ago)
nice one. :])
unrealdevon (6 years ago)
Yeah so do i as i collect sega saturn games for about 6 years now. I also have a smaller dreamcast collection aswell. All the money i spend on games goes to my collection and Especially saturn. I play retro more than new games even. Its very fasinating that they could archive these kind of visuals galaxy force II is from 1988 and that is just so mind blowing. I just wish they made more ports of other games with sprite scaling like this cause it suits the saturn so well.
musicmaniac1965 (6 years ago)
But i'm with you, i love the effect that Sprite Scaling gives! I still like those kind of graphics. I don't mind the lower resolution. It ads something to the mood :-D
musicmaniac1965 (6 years ago)
As far as i know of: Afterburner II, Galaxy Force II, Gale Racer, OutRun, Power Drift, Space Harrier. Be warned, Gale Racer is not that good of a port. It was the very first game they ported to the Saturn, and graphics wise, it was not even half as good as the arcade game. So i was very surprised to see games like Galaxy Force II and Power Drift being ported over so good! I never expected them to be as arcade perfect as they are. Only the framerate suffers a little bit :-D
unrealdevon (6 years ago)
Im amazed how good these games look when you think of their age. This sprite scaling is wonderful!. How many games using this kind of technice is avaible on the sega saturn ?
musicmaniac1965 (6 years ago)
All the games i uploaded from the "Sega Ages" label are imported from Japan. I never saw those games here in Europe, but i so badly wanted to have these. I hope Sega decide to re release those sprite scaling games on PSN and XBLA! I would buy them again and again :-D LOL. Hope they will start with the complete OutRun series!
unrealdevon (6 years ago)
This only came out in japan right ? I wanna get all the sega saturn sprite scaling games like galazy force 2 i just bought. This one looks awsome.
musicmaniac1965 (6 years ago)
Great choice! I would love to see Turbo OutRun as well, and while they are at it, let them do OutRunners as well! I think both versions are superb, but because of the improved connection to the TV, the Dreamcast gets better immage quallity from the VGA adaptor. And maybe the framerate may be a little bit smoother on it, but both versions captures the arcade experience! Thanks for your visit and cool message. Kind regards, Ronald.
musicmaniac1965 (6 years ago)
@cjewelz To bad not, as the Playstation had much better cables to connect to the TV, i have component cable for the PS2, and the Saturn is only connected trough scart. But i'm happy i still have my Sega Saturn, there where some superb classics released for it. Thanks for visiting and your message. Have a happy Christmas season for you and your familly! Kind regards, Ronald.
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@dinizgames Me too, i still love those games. The Saturn has some wonderfull oldschool games, including this one! Thanks a lot for visiting. Have a nice day. Kind regards, musicmaniac1965.
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@OutRunner1989 exelent list there, all of these games are favorites of mine :-D
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@OutRunner1989 all of the games you mentione are indeed exelent examples of sega's arcade legacy. i hope they do return with a console of their own, so sega can be exclusive again :-)
Kusanagi765 (8 years ago)
@musicmaniac1965 maybe there is a chance of a sega classic racers game, if there is here would be a list of games for it: Power Drift OutRun Rad Mobile Hangon Super Hangon Sega Rally Daytona 1-2 GP Rider Super Monaco GP OutRunners Turbo OutRun Sega Touring Car Manx TT Sega Super GT
Kusanagi765 (8 years ago)
@musicmaniac1965 i know man sega games are the best,thats why i turned down a ps3 to get a dc and a saturn just to play hang-on daytona outrun power drift and sega rally 1
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@OutRunner1989 indeed, i feel the same way. somehow those sega games always keep me comming back for more.
Kusanagi765 (8 years ago)
i dont know why but sega always has amazing arcade racers
gamephreak5 (8 years ago)
@greatgnomex Computer Graphics, though I guess saying CG after saying polygons was a bit repetitive. :-/
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@greatgnomex : if i'm not mistaken, it's pre rendered video, that only needs to be played. this needs no calculation power from the console, but maybe gamephreak5 knows.
greatgnomex (8 years ago)
Sorry, but what is CG?
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@PoltFan: indeed. and if i'm not mistaken, OutRunners was a 32bit sprite scaling game. i love the way how some huge things in the background slowly gets closer, and suddenly you pass it :-D a really cool effect. i wish sega would bring the complete OutRun series to xboxlive and PSN..... but still, indeed THANKS SEGA, for bringing such wonderfull games. can't get enough of them.
PoltFan (8 years ago)
I think, the best sprite scaling game is Outrunners. It is perfect. I play it every day. Thank You SEGA
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@gamephreak5: indeed, those sprite scaling chips found in space harrier, OutRun, afterbur, and others :-) gave those games smooth scrolling, and awesome 3D effects for it's time. i still enjoy playing these games once in a while.
gamephreak5 (8 years ago)
looks like whatever rendering method Sega used for this game they used for their first Jurassic Park arcade game. It is pretty awesome how Sega was able to make plain 2D sprites look and move somewhat in 3D. No polygons, no CG, just flat 2D sprites. Definitely impressive for the time!
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@TheBardsSongCGS: thanks, for me, it is. especially for its time. after OutRun, Afterburner, sega brought us this game, somewhere in the late 80's. i still play those games to remind me how far gaming has taken us :-D
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@luukneele: dude, your respons sucks! gast, je reactie zuigt!
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
indeed, we won't see them again, unless sega desides to release them for dead cheap on xbox live or psn network, just like they did with golden axe, or the megadrive sonic games. let's hope so, as those game has indeed their own charm, especially for people like us, who played them for real at the arcade :-D
Adropacrich2 (8 years ago)
Yes there is still a definite charm to these great games.We of course wont ever see the likes of 3d scaling again so that makes them again extra special
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
i'm amazed there are more people who love this game just as much as i do :-) but, i like just about every sprite scaler game from that gaming time. it took a proper 3D game to get rid of the sprite scaler games (virtua fighter and virtua racing, also by sega :-P). i still like the sprite scaler games...
Adropacrich2 (8 years ago)
Yeah it's quite awesome to own Powerdrift - a game i was always in awe of when i used to visit my local arcade - never thought at the time i would be able to play it at home and that makes it very special It in no way makes for a worse playing game of course and is frankly 100% perfect bar this
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
to bad there's no arcade where they still have this game. but i guess i feel lucky, so i'm not that dissapointed by the lower framerate, as i can't really remember how smooth the orginal game went. but for the purists among us, it's usefull information.
Adropacrich2 (8 years ago)
Well indeed, just thought i'd bring it to your attention It's quite a striking difference if you're used to playing the arcade but in truth it doesn't hurt the gameplay any on the Saturn
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
well, that's why i said "by the looks of it, from what i can see, this is a 100 the arcade version". i actually did not even noticed the framerate being less than the original. but it has been a long time since i've seen the orginal, so i could not remember.
Adropacrich2 (8 years ago)
Great conversion but i recall it ran at 30fps so not entirely 100% accurate
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
zekers, omdat je dan echt alle tracks achter elkaar kunt spelen, en je start positie is altijd je vorige finish positie :-)
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
hahaha, lekekr ben je dan, dus je broer post met jouw naam ? dan kun je beter voor hem ook een eigen acount maken :-) maar "no harm done" :-)
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
dat zou ik wel gedaan hebben als de meeste bezoekers ook uit nederland zouden komen, maar op mijn neven na, heb ik weinig nederlandse bezoekers :-) dus ik besloot mijn filmpjes in het engels te doen, dat verstaan nederlanders ook :-D
arjan snijder (9 years ago)
true they also used similair techniques on the genesis couse it could'nt do real 3d so they faked it,a really good example is panorama cotton altought i think the genesis could't zoom either.
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
tsja, vroeger verwachte ik te veel van de commodore 64. pas nadat ik leerde hoe de techniek werkte begon ik de c64 pas echt te waarderen. ze hebben echt meer uit de commodore 64 weten te halen dan uit welke console dan ook. zelfs paralax scrolling, terwijl geen enkele chip in de c64 dat zou ondersteunen. echt wereldtijden beleefd op die c64. trouwens, ik heb hem nog, en heb er een nieuwe cartridge voor gekocht om mijn diskettes op te back uppen :-)
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
de sega saturn versie is echt geweldig, zeker met de "knight into dreams" pad, die ronde, met een analoge stick, en 2 analoge triggers om gas te geven en te remmen. werkt echt subliem. de dreamcast pad lijkt erg afgeleid van de ronde knights pad voor saturn.
R2daE01 (9 years ago)
ik had trouwens ook de c-64 versie vroeger........ dat was echt een telleurstelling na het spelen van de arcade versie...... al was het wel 1 van de betere spellen op de c-64 ... IT STILL SUCKED BALLS compared to the arcade
R2daE01 (9 years ago)
nee ik heb geen stuur helaas voor de pc....... analoge joypad wel..... maar mame ondersteunt die niet..... dan maar de saturn versie zoeken...... die is nog net iets vloeiender ook... zo te zien...
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
heb je het al geprobeerd om met een stuurtje te spelen ? of is mame niet compatible met pc stuur ? zo niet, er is ook iets voor de pc zodat je een xbox 360 controller kunt gebruiken, en dan heb je ook analoge bestuuring, dat gaat vast beterd an via toetsenbord.
R2daE01 (9 years ago)
de arcade versie van powerdrift had een stuur........... ik heb m ook en draai hem via mame32........ maar het is onbestuurbaar omdat het niet gemaakt is voor een joystick..... de saturn versie duidelijk wel... weet jij misschien een oplossing?? groetjes
wingnut4427 (9 years ago)
Yup ! No one could do Sprite Scaling like Sega. But in retrospect, It really looks bad when You compare it to games Like Daytona. But HEY !! Sega did that great too ! :D
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
i also got yu suzuki gameworks vol 1. but with this saturn version, you can adjust the difficulty setting :-) and it's not that strange the dreamcast can do a even better conversion than the saturn :-)
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
i know, outrun had clones like chase hq (the sprite scaling effect has been copied). but big games like powerdrift and galaxy force II where probably to difficult to copycat :-)
laatmaarzien (9 years ago)
Ah the fullscreen reviews return! Strange other companies didn't want to make a game like this. Maybe this was a bit too much compared to OutRun (OutRun had lots of clones at the time).

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.