HomeМузыкаRelated VideosMore From: musicmaniac1965

Roland HD-1 V-drums lite - review part 2 - The pads and pedals.

35 ratings | 18714 views
Here i will continue the REVIEW of the Roland HD-1 V-drums lite. This part is dedicated to the pads and pedals of the drumkit. To be continued in the final part, part 3, where i will be handling the drumkit sounds.
Category: Музыка
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (61)
Steven Arseneault (1 year ago)
"Then along comes...two rectums" I know, it's innocent but still funny to hear. :P
musicmaniac1965 (1 year ago)
Lol, my prenouncement may be off, as English is not my mother language, but i guess you could tell :-P LOL! It should have sounded like "Rack Toms".
Mr. Jay-San (1 year ago)
Good review!! Subscribed! :)
musicmaniac1965 (1 year ago)
Mr. Jay-San thanks for your visit and complement glad this review helped. Have a nice weekend. Kind regards, Ronald.
musicmaniac1965 (5 years ago)
Yes, the version i review is my own drumkit. Still have it, and it's still in great condition. So durability is also good. Kind regards, Ronald.
walkabout16 (5 years ago)
Did you buy it?
musicmaniac1965 (5 years ago)
You're welcome. Glad you found them useful! Kind regards, Ronald.
UncleTony007 (5 years ago)
thanks for these very informative videos!
musicmaniac1965 (6 years ago)
@unduswaffel I'm not sure if it's the same as the TD4, but it's 26 Centimeter (dutch mesuring, so not in inches, but centimeters) This is measured from the outside of the snarre, left to right. The white part where you have to hit it is 20 centimeter. Hope this helps. Maybe you can find a convertor on internet to help convert the CM to INCH. Kind regards, Ronald.
Anav Sawhney (6 years ago)
How big is the snare? Is it the PDX-8 like on the TD-4kx2?
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@johntrej3 I got it from "Gitaarshop Delft". I had a nice discount, as they usually only sell guitars.
johntre jenkins (7 years ago)
where did u get it?
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@awwsandy That's nice. YouTube is a nice way to be able to show your music, and communicate about what you do. Your demo i really liked, Maybe if you would do covers, you'd get even more visitors/subscribers! I don't know if i subbet yet (I will look after this message), but i wish you lots of fun with your channel.
Jessica Wright (7 years ago)
@musicmaniac1965 I only got this kit about a month ago because i want a kit in my room in university because i am going to study music. I have got a mapex horizon hzb which i love and have built up over the years but unfortunatly i havent got the spare money to buy any mics so when i got the roland HD-1 i thought i may aswell give the whole of youtube a go :)
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@awwsandy Youre welcome. The only thing i wonder is how you, with your superb drumskills have chosen the HD-1 instead of for instance the TD-9, as your skills deserve better options (chokable crash, rimshot) :-D
Jessica Wright (7 years ago)
@musicmaniac1965 aww thank you so much :) it was quite rude of me. i have seen a few of your videos and i really like the way you try the different styles available due to the different sounds on the kit. also your detailed descriptions are really useful for those thinking of purchasing :) thanks for giving me a listen :)
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@awwsandy Thanks for visiting, but i could not find in the message if the review was usefull or not, only advertising for own channel. Usually i remove ads with no response to the actuall video, but sinds your drumming impressed me, it would be bad not to let other viewers see it :-D Rock on!
Jessica Wright (7 years ago)
Check out my video for a demo of all the sounds available on the roland hd-1 and if you like my playing let me know if you want me to do a cover :) im open to suggestions. let me know what you think guys :)
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@WRXjasonSTI Sorry to say so, but no. You can't choke the cymbals :-(
WRXjasonSTI (7 years ago)
Can you choke the cymbals?
Jorge Leitner (7 years ago)
@musicmaniac1965 Ok, thank you!
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@supersawneekfan With drumkit 2 and the variation on, the left pedal becomes a bass drum as well, and the hi hat stay's open as you can't shut that anymore. So there's a option to play double bass, but it leaves the hi hat open. Hope this helps. Thanks for visiting, and have a nice day. Kind regards, musicmaniac1965.
Jorge Leitner (7 years ago)
A question. The left pedal only works for hi hator can you change it for being a pedal, so you will have double pedal?
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@pspisbeast9 no, the pedals does not feel like a real pad, as with the HD-1 there's no hammer hitting a drum. here you just kick a pedal in a rubber pad with a hit sensor in it. my nephew who also play accoustic drums told me it's harder to do some of the techniques he learned on the accoustic and repeat that on the HD-1, so if you really want a real pedal, this is not the kit for you.
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@Maxifichter dat is inderdaad niet zo verkeerd gedacht. en als het inderdaad niet zo goed wil lukken, en je vind het toch minder leuk dan verwacht, is hij niet moeilijk te verkopen via een van die verkoopsites :-D mijn neef(je) heeft hetzelfde gedaan, die kon niet verder, en besloot om wat anders te kopen van het geld wat hij er voor terug ving. toch hoop ik dat je het wel leuk vind. mocht je een drumvideo hebben geupload, laat het weten, en ik kom ff bij je kijken :-D
Max Rang (7 years ago)
@musicmaniac1965 bedankt! ik denk toch dat ik voor dit ding ga, ik heb niet heel veel geld te besteden, en als het drummen niets wordt kan ik altijd nog makkelijk terug :p
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@Maxifichter ik heb een paar electrishe drumkits van roland uitgeprobeerd ondertussen, maar als ik het overnieuw had moeten doen had ik toch gegaan voor de TD-4, zodat ik ook chokable crash zou hebben, maar dat kost wel weer meer natuurlijk. de HD-1 is prima qua kwaliteit, er is nog niks mis mee, en qua geluid is hij ook echt goed. trouwens, de Yamaha DTXplorer schijnt ook een goed alternatief te zijn, maar daar heb ik nog nooit zelf op gespeeld.
Max Rang (7 years ago)
Je begon met praten en ik dacht "jeej nederlander" :p zit er wel over na te denken om zo'n ding te kopen... heb nog nooit eerder gedrumd, tips?
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@xAlexDarkx thanks, glad you found the review good. it's nice to see more and more positive reactions :-D kind regards, musicmaniac1965.
AlexDarkEnergy (7 years ago)
Good review! P.s. Xbox :)
musicmaniac1965 (7 years ago)
@bchamorro no, but as you can see, i have put the roland on a board, and underneath is some shock absorbing material, making sure my basedrum and hi hat pedals won't submitt to much vibration to the wooden floor. so far, no one have ever complained yet. it also helps that the pedals of hte hd-1 doesn't use a beater, but just a system that detects being kicked on, but hat's hidden in a soft material damping the kick. it does not feel like a real beater, but it does work, and you get used to it.
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@99proskater i will go check out your chanel to see what roland youve got :-D are you also satisfied with it ?
Martin Popovski (8 years ago)
nice i have a roland too
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@ELX222 hey, thanks, that's the word i was searching for :-) hahaha, but just as long as the viewers from this review understand that they can tighten or loosen up the snarrepad mesh head, they know they can adjust how much you want the drumstick to bounce.
ELX222 (8 years ago)
@musicmaniac1965 Called "lugs"
John Strauss (8 years ago)
@musicmaniac1965 thanks I was playing on it last night for the first time. Took some gettinguse too maybe because im use to accoustic kits but I'm getting the feel down now. just downloaded some of those play along songs from the v-drum site so tonight i'll be jamming :0 get kit I love it so far
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@jsbattlenet cool ! hope you have so much fun with it. oh, and upload some cool drumcovers :-D
John Strauss (8 years ago)
GOOD JOB ON THE REVIEW. IM BUYING MINE TODAY. CAN NOT WAIT
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@aspirino67 the pads and cymbals can be moved about, but the pedals are the footprint of the whole rack where everything is mounted on.
Gabriel Gayoso (8 years ago)
hey i have a question, can you move the pedals and pads or are they stuck in one position? thanks
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@maradiege thanks, but no, they are not screws, as you can tighten them with the drumkey, and it has a square shape :-D but thanks, i'm glad you liked the reviews, i hope it was usefull.
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@eminem1022 : als je pc speakerset een eigen versterker heeft, die of een mini jack input heeft, of tulp (die rood/witte kabels) dan kan dat. de hd1 heeft een minijack output, dus het ligt aan je input op je versterker wat voor kabel je nodig hebt, van minijack naar tulp, of van minijack naar minijack. let wel op, en draai de eerste keer je bassen er uit, anders heb je kans dat je je subwoover beschadigd, want de hd1 levert veel bas. draai hem langzaam op totdat hij klinkt zoals jij wilt.
Dreadfulginger (8 years ago)
Ik heb nog een vraag :P Kan je ook gewoon bijv. Je speakers van je pc in de HD-1 doen of moet je dan echt zoon speciale speaker er voor kopen? Ik heb het geld er al bijna voor, ik kan niet wachten!
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@YTcomic : LOL, i sai'd "two rack toms" hahaha. but, i can imagine that if you listen quickly, it can be mistaken for rectums :-D
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
@reggs71 : thanks for the kudos. it's people like you and others who respond to the review, who gives other visitors a idea of how helpfull the review is.
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
mostly populair songs, also depends on my mood. my drumming is still a bit limited as i'm not skilled enough to drum along to every kind of music, but that will eventually come in time :-) i like almost all kinds of music.
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
thanks for your reply. i'm glad the review is helpful. my fingers are to stiff and thick to play the guitar properly, so i have first chosen for keyboard, and not to long ago, to add drumming :-) i love making music :-) so, what kind of music do you play on your guitar ?
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
thanks :-) but i wasn't reviewing the tv ;-) hahaha. just kidding, thanks for your nice comment.
mronissopwnage (8 years ago)
nice tv...:) very informing and cool review!!!
musicmaniac1965 (8 years ago)
thanks. i thought it was usefull for people like me, new to drums, and see what the hd-1 is all about :-)
chriscem (9 years ago)
Nice Review... ;D
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
those are hornets. you can recognize it by the bottom, they looks like the bottom of a hornet, do they ? :-P
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
if this is a single triggered pedal that uses a mono jack plug, i suppose that it should work. but, i never tried. all that is certain is that all the pads and pedals on the hd-1 has only one trigger per pad.
fabptitpom (9 years ago)
It's possible to remplace pedal kick by a kd8 pad with real pedal ?
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
youre welcome. i always check for new messages, especially if it's a respons to a review. i will send you a private message so i don't have a limit on characters to give more info about the kit.
Supercluster64 (9 years ago)
Thanks for answering! I'll wait until your friend tries that! But would you recmomand me that or the DTXplorer cause I'm realy poor but I want a V-Drums set, and 699 euros is alredy an horrible price for me.
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
i don't have enough skill to do that, i tried, but to me it sonds like a hi hat that's being closed after hitting it. i will ask daddydrums (one of my friends who also have a hd-1, he has much better drumskills than i have :-D
Supercluster64 (9 years ago)
Can you do rattling with that hi-hat? (When I hit it opened then half-close it.)
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
only in one, it's drumkit 2, and then the variation button. the only downside is that this uses the hi hat pedal, so this mean the hi hat is always open.
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
yes, every pad is removable, so you can set it up in mirror. i mean that for instance, put the hi hat cable in the basedrum pedal, and the basedrum cable in the hi hat pedal. now all you have to do is swap the 2 rack tom cables so the hi tom is on the right, and the mid tom is on the left. then swap the hi hat cymbal with the floor tom. just use the same cable to hook it up when you swapped the cymbal/floor tom. now all you need to do is swap the cables from the crash cymbal and ride cymbal.
musicmaniac1965 (9 years ago)
youre welcome. it's good to see my review helped some people out :-)

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.