HomeХобби и стильRelated VideosMore From: Redolessence

Interlude Man by Amouage Fragrance / Cologne Review

404 ratings | 34311 views
Presentation: 3:22 | Smell: 6:07 | Analogy: 15:35 | Rating: 21:36 Where to buy: http://amzn.to/2cikLr7 Buy cheap designer and niche fragrances at BeautySpin!: http://bit.ly/2d1PTXY Buy cheap decants on ScentSplit!: http://bit.ly/2cmR8kh A fragrance review of Amouage's Interlude Man. Perfumer: Pierre Negrin Classification: Spicy Woody Bottle Sizes Available: 50ml & 100ml Concentration: Eau de Parfum Release Date: 2012 As an interlude serves as a break between sections of repetition in a musical composition, the interlude in this recent release by Amouage represents the intermission between conflict and resolution. Creative director Christopher Chong chose to represent the former through a smokey opening with culinary nuances that gives way to an incense smell reminiscent of a freshly lit stick of its kind. Pepper seasons the surface and its superficiality is divulged through its ephemeral presence. A fleeting bergamot note is punctual but abandons the composition as if it were fulfilling a curfew. A harmonious transition to an animalic dry-down ensues once the frankincense and opoponax notes step down from their respective fragrant platforms and pass the torch to an ever-present leather note. An herbal quality lingers from the darkness of the patchouli and the balsamic nature of the cistus labdanum. Labdanum continues to compliment the amber by lending it a resinous sweetness akin to an unusual olfactory amalgamation evocative of beeswax and tree-sap. Agarwood adds depth while promoting the non-linearity of the fragrance. In summation, all ingredients work vitally in accordance with each other in accomplishing the theme kept in mind during the fragrance's conception. Filming this review was the conflict. Watching it is the resolution. Rating: Overall Smell: 10/10 Longevity: 10/10 Projection: 10/10 Versatility: 5/10 Presentation: 10/10 Average Score: 9/10 Please comment, rate, and subscribe. Thanks for watching!
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (229)
Nihal Yapa (25 days ago)
Very well presented
Redolessence (25 days ago)
Thank you, Nihal!
Brian Gardner (1 month ago)
Myself being one of prob many subscribers would luvvvv to see you do a review on journey man..You touched on fate when hardly no one would..major reviewers seem to be staying away & dunno why..I've been sampling these and ordering full bottles of what I really like from this house..and this one I've been overlooking and found to be a sleeper...It seems to be right in there with herod and oh say pure havane yet better
Eddie (1 month ago)
Does this one mature as it sits over time and becomes more potent? I just bought a bottle of this and I'm worried about longevity. It's becoming a skin scent after 6.5 hours.
Eddie (1 month ago)
Redolessence hey Steve, do you know if there was ever a reformulation? I bought a tester from a reputable seller on eBay for $139 and I'm comparing it to a retail sample. The juice colors are different. The tester color is lighter and the opening is more prominent on bergamote where the retail is more smokier. Just curious as if it was reformulated, or if i got a fake.
Redolessence (1 month ago)
It doesn't become a skin scent at all for me!
Geekz (2 months ago)
i've mixed hindi oudh oil with this frag and ohhhh buddday
Redolessence (2 months ago)
Oh, wow!
Terakahn (3 months ago)
After finding you recently, it's crazy how different your old videos are. Your suited look matches you so well.
Redolessence (3 months ago)
Thank you.
indraadi (3 months ago)
Excellent review😊👍
Redolessence (3 months ago)
Thank you!
Jai Govinda (4 months ago)
AMOUAGE perfumes have a very weird DNA. Get a sample before you get a bottle! To me it reaLLY STINKS.
A SANTIAGO (6 months ago)
I love interlude, I find it very special and unique defintely not for everyone.
Cristian Villafuerte (6 months ago)
Is one of the best compliment getter of the brand.
Yasmeen M Al Lawati (7 months ago)
Thank you for the video. I’m from Oman and to add that frankincense are only and only found in south of Oman. And not in all Arab countries hence it’s used in many amouage Perfumes
Irawan Botak (1 year ago)
3 USD for 1 ml
William Kenimer (1 year ago)
i just ordered an 8ml sample from scentbird...but im still veeery confused to if ill like it...it sounds like ill love it from the description...but not many reviewers cone out and say if it smells great..however most just say projection and longevity are very high...which. confuses me even more...and the few reviewrs that say its their favorite..im not sure how much they like it or if they're trying to be different.
Dr. JAC (1 year ago)
I absolutely love this scent, I got a 5ml sample , and just had to get a bottle. The interplay of incense and sweet resin did it for me! It's such a peaceful calming scent on my skin. LOVE IT!
richard rohloff (1 year ago)
This fragrance is beyond description or words, it is that good.
Redolessence (1 year ago)
+richard rohloff Agreed.
Carlos Garcia (1 year ago)
Hello I love your videos steven i have a question I bought some creed samples to be honest I wasn't that impressed I liked creed aventus and GIT and third being millesime imperial I'm looking to try some amouages what would you recommend I like woody scents I'm 23 by the way
Ronny Mosuse (1 year ago)
Amouage perfume are all too schtinkie for me :/
Joe Justjoe (1 year ago)
It smells like smoke from a fireplace. I just bought a sample, thankful I never bought the bottle. The smoke is so dominant you won't pick up the other notes.
Redolessence (1 year ago)
+Joe Justjoe In the very drydown you get the vanilla and resins, but I see what you mean. Thank you for watching!
Tom Schroeder (1 year ago)
One of your earliest reviews that I have seen, and what interpretive depth! It's great to see how your reviews have evolved over time to become shorter and crisper, which is more in line with how much time people have available nowadays. But still, this was like having an in-depth discussion about one's passion while sitting together having an evening chat, and it is totally enjoyable and one of the most in-depth discussions of a single fragrance ever.
Cigar Dragon (1 year ago)
Analogy?? I thought has something to do with Anal 😂😂
Arny Diablo (1 year ago)
Steven, how could you give it a 9/10. i thought this is a perfect TEN of a fragrance just like Jubilation XXV! :P
Redolessence (1 year ago)
I know! It's personally one of my favorites, but I keep thinking about the versatility. Thank you for watching and commenting!
arceo onnie (1 year ago)
i have the vintage formula of interlude its smells amazing and powerful
Interlude is a beast mode fragrance laced with amber and loads of smoke.... Very arabic feel with a royal touch... You need a very special occasion to wear it ... NOt for a casual wear .. Nice review mate :)
Vadim Don (1 year ago)
That is a proper review of a perfume. I totally agree about the smell and not so satisfied they have changed the concentration. Everything really good doesn't seems to last when it comes to fragrance houses
Morbus H. (1 year ago)
Excellent review! Can you tell us if the new formulation is much different?
Morbus H. (1 year ago)
ScapeRazer Yes I know idealo. But right now even this is too expensive to me.
ScapeRazer (1 year ago)
Ok check it on idealo. you can buy it there for 158 Euros for 100 ml , if you live in europe.
Morbus H. (1 year ago)
ScapeRazer I have never bought it. But I am still pondering to buy a bottle. of course I would not buy the expensive old version.
ScapeRazer (1 year ago)
True. Where did you get it ?
Morbus H. (1 year ago)
ScapeRazer Yes true but with the old bottle I have heard you could use it your lifetime lol
Steven Evans (1 year ago)
i got a sample of interlude and epic man i want both! interlude is better but they are both amazing. got aventus as well....smells just like armaf CDNIM.
Tamer Ali (1 year ago)
hi Steven thank you for your detailed review. i already bought it and love it. but i am confused about when to use it? i am 32 is it possible to use it in the office ? since i bought it i just feel this might offend people around and i couldn't wear it till now. kindly advise
V. Noir (1 year ago)
The Best scent forever
Ben Champion (1 year ago)
Really enjoyed this detailed review of this absolute masterpiece👍
Clockwork (2 years ago)
this lasted for about 5 days on my skin in and out of the shower..😅
DrunkNikolai666 (1 year ago)
SoLiTaRyBoNe Amouage reformulated many of their bottles. They lessened the concentration of the juice by a bit. Most of them are still beastly just not as crazy as their original formulations. A lot of people actually prefer the newer formulations because they're a bit easier to wear, since they won't completely gas out a building.
SoLiTaRyBoNe (1 year ago)
Clockwork what do you mean by reformulated?!
Morbus H. (1 year ago)
Yes but it got reformulated as far as I have heard.
Deepak Hiregoudar (2 years ago)
This is your best review till date
Florin Otto (2 years ago)
Great video, congrats!! What are your thoughts on the new reformulated version in terms of longevity? Btw, after I watched one of your videos I bought Montale Red Oud and Black Afgano.
Ben Farrar (2 years ago)
New York must have awesome weed.
Krisztián Németh (2 years ago)
That analogy was beautiful. I want to sample this fragrance ASAP.
Ino Svy (2 years ago)
Very beautiful and powerful scent
Charles Martin (2 years ago)
Steven I always learn everytime I watch your channel. Great product review. as always be blessed
GATORS-ROCK-TIM-T (2 years ago)
Pierre Negrin is the nose behind this.. i think
Ruli Valentino (2 years ago)
Hi mr just wondering if you have an alternative perfume for interlude for men by amouage thanks for your videos
Tony Harris (2 years ago)
Well done you go above and beyond with the backstory and little nuances regarding the company and product info.
Emilio Cruz (2 years ago)
Great Review!!!! My signature...
loveyrocks (2 years ago)
talk like women. have gayish accent
Farhana Hossain (1 year ago)
loveyrocks you are just jealous dude
loveyrocks (2 years ago)
+Ben Farrar did u said to me
Robert A (2 years ago)
Does anyone know one similar to this? but maybe bit cheaper. I have ordered John Varvatos Dark Rebel, its a little similar. Any help appreciated
Redolessence (2 years ago)
+Robert A I would love to be able to recommend a cheaper alternative, but I truly can't think of anything!
Phillip Wagner Jr. (2 years ago)
Hey I follow your post and I'm think about treating myself you a niche fragrance. I'm stuck on which one to get . I know I want longevity and projection, but not over baring.
Ivan Amador (2 years ago)
You are the best! Nice review!
Nathan Bennett (2 years ago)
Where is a reputable online source to get this fragrance from?
A.ROMERO78USN (2 years ago)
bottle is made in Oman ? or France ?
Abdulrahman Albinali (1 year ago)
Navy78 Oman
Keith Speller (2 years ago)
Super spicy and smokey on the opening! It changed on me a couple times! It dries down into a great scent! Let's see what the wife thinks. This fragrance is for the confident individual. Very unique. Thank you for your review!
Keith Speller (2 years ago)
+Redolessence My pleasure. I enjoy your vids and learning. My wife doesn't like it!! She said it reminds her of some of the guys that would push up on her at some of the clubs in Los Angeles. WTH? Come on woman, that was like 1999! lol. But my 4 yo son said, "Mmm..I like it a lot. But it's a little strong." His exact words.
Redolessence (2 years ago)
+Keith Speller I completely agree with your assessment! I hope your wife likes it! Thank you for watching!
I Killed Tony Soprano (2 years ago)
Would you honestly say this is too mature for a 20 year old? I think it sounds really nice but it has a lot of bolder notes and if it is too mature what is an Amouage fragrance that wouldn't be? Lol
Clockwork (2 years ago)
lmao exactly
Ino Svy (2 years ago)
Just wear it and stop giving a fuck
Justin Hopkins (2 years ago)
Wow! Thanks for the information, I learned a lot! I can't wait to get my sample. I expect great things.
Ino Svy (2 years ago)
+Ruli Valentino I'm 19 and I rock it. It doesn't matter how old you are, as long as you're able to pull it off you definitely can wear it. I love this scent, and women love it as well
Ruli Valentino (2 years ago)
hello redilessence Do you think this is a fragance for mature men or in your opinion can be for a 30 year old guy? Thanks
Redolessence (2 years ago)
You're welcome! Thank you for watching!
TWINTURBO (2 years ago)
Great vid looking to buy this soon!!
Redolessence (2 years ago)
Thank you!
Jared Powell (2 years ago)
Is it worth the money??
Ino Svy (2 years ago)
Hell yes
Жора Корнев (2 years ago)
Приглашаем Вас на старт уникального в собственном роде сервера Grand x50 Interlude - http://L2IT.RU! Открытие состоится сейчас в 20:00 по МСК. Не упусти собственный шанс получить приз 10 Donate на старте. Уникальные вещи и нпц, размеренная труд сервера! Ощути то, чего этак длительно ожидал! Ссылка на проект: http://l2it.ru
ejkool76 (2 years ago)
Magnetic Cap?
Agnor Bertheussen (2 years ago)
Extremely high quality review. Thanks for the thoughts and tips. I ordered a 50 ml of this from private guy with 40/50 ml left. I have all the testers from Amouage (for men) and this and Sunshine is the best. This is even more elegant than Sunshine, but Sunshine is more versatile and could be used for different scenarios. Lyric Man also I love, with fantastic rose scents in addition to more which makes it complex and elegant.
Kingtut777 (3 years ago)
A fantastic review!!
Redolessence (3 years ago)
+Kingtut777 Thank you!
lordjohn knows (3 years ago)
is it safe to blindbuy this fragrance?
Agnor Bertheussen (2 years ago)
+lordjohn knows I have the tester for it and have worn it 3 times. I would say yes. Its a smokey pachuly scent which starts sweet and smokey. I persepted it as chokolate first time. Not overwhelming chockolate, but a delicate smell of it, behind some smoke and myrh.
dont distrub (3 years ago)
Superb extensive review sir, many thanks! Im enjoying that distinctive heavenly scent, that is real gift from Amouage with the only couple really fantastic ones.. happy to have it!
Salem Abuammer (3 years ago)
Another really nice review. Just wondering, have you ever tried Kalemat by Arabian Oud? It's a really interesting fragrance.
Letícia Rezende (3 years ago)
Hi, I have made a TOP 10 amouage fragrances for men, what do you think of it? what you would change? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42rP2J7QvXU hope you watch it !
LuxeXx (3 years ago)
Where can you sample this? It doesn't seem to be sold in stores...
Redolessence (3 years ago)
+LuxeXx MiN New York and LuckyScent would sell samples. =)
Amir Barouh (3 years ago)
just subscribed to your channel . only because of analogy part. that was the most clear and most accurate way to describe this masterpiece .
Romeo Numberone (3 years ago)
Hi did you do a rating for compliments you got on this fragrance I couldn't seem to find it in the video. If not can you let us know what the compliments factor on this fragrance was please?
Steven Einstein (3 years ago)
+Redolessence That lime green candle on your dresser is my favorite scent. It reminds me of a spa :)
Redolessence (3 years ago)
+Romeo Numberone I did not rate compliments. To be honest with you, the compliment factor is very low. This is probably my fiancee's least favorite fragrances. This is a fragrance I wear for myself. I absolutely love the smell. My most complimented Amouage is Reflection Man. Thank you for watching!
Ramon Heard Jr (3 years ago)
im a travel agent and wonder if i can ask a survey question. What would you think of a niche fragrance tour. where perfume lovers would travel to key locations in certain countries to tour exclusive perfume factories.
jesaliga (3 years ago)
Yesterday I received samples of Amouage Interlude Man and Epic Man.  I want them both!  But for now I ordered Interlude Man.  I'll get Epic Man as soon as my wallet recovers from several recent niche fragrance buys. :-)  Interlude Man is an amazing fragrance.  Superb review and in-depth analysis.
7Strangelove (3 years ago)
Surprisingly, none of the major reviewers from youtube has done OPUS VI, I wonder why?
7Strangelove (3 years ago)
 Yes  you aaaaareeeeee!! LOL
Redolessence (3 years ago)
+7Strangelove Hmmm... that's a good question because it's a beautiful amber. I actually don't own a bottle, but also, I don't think I'm a major reviewer! lol Thank you for watching!
PianoMelodyNotes Gabry (3 years ago)
thanks :) i'm buy this in the future in my collection
Redolessence (3 years ago)
+PianoMelodyNotes Gabry Thank you for watching! You will love it!
King Ted (3 years ago)
Great review Steven, I just ordered this one for my birthday..Had 2 samples, loved it..
Red Guthrie (3 years ago)
Winter 2013, outdoor, dabbed from my roll on decant, very impressive, complex, disorganized scattered bits of puzzle that within an hour, solving on its own. Incensey, resinous, smokey that dries down with just the right sweetness, captivating and comforting with a hint of chocolate. My female co-worker noticed it also although she didn't like the initial burst of smoke n spices. Winter 2014, my feelings hasn't changed and I await my full bottle this week. Thank you Steven for a very intellectual take on Interlude Man. I agree with all your thoughts about it. The dry down is to die for and I hope many perfume enthusiasts would appreciate this liquid gold and not as a liquid ash. Awesome reviewer, as always. Cheers.
djentleman57 (3 years ago)
smells like lipstick that caught on fire and was left out in the cold rain for 3 days.
So Ronery (1 year ago)
🤔 and you would know that because?
noamanb (3 years ago)
This might be the best fragrance review I've seen. By anybody.
sodubairob (4 years ago)
Great review of a wonderful fragrance. Very comprehensive, detailed and truly covers what this fragrance is about. Well done. Personally, I think this is as good, if not better than Jubilation XXV, and certainly is more unique and daring. This gets a lot of use where I live (Dubai, UAE) and while a lot a of the Amouage fragrances smell like local Arabian fragrances - but often with better ingredients - this one is an altogether different experience.  By the way, your way of seeing resolution in this fragrance as having a counterpart to the resolution of conflicts and difficulties in our lives was very well considered.....Bravo. 
Crisas31 (4 years ago)
This is my favourite video because it prompted me to go out and sample this amazing fragrance and eventually purchase a bottle, so thank you.
19vasily (4 years ago)
This is my favorite video of yours. When I first sniffed Interlude, I passed it over as a smoke bomb and didn't give it much thought. This review convinced me to give it a second look. I have since fallen in love with this complex and beautiful fragrance and it is my go-to for the colder months. I love how comprehensive your reviews are Steven. Thank you for for all your hard work.
Himmat C (4 years ago)
This is my favorite review of yours. You go incredibly in-depth onto the notes at a level I haven't seen anywhere else, and if I recall, offer a more metaphorical/creative interpretation of how you perceived that. The detail is appreciated, and your own honest opinions/experiences are nice to hear too.
Redolessence (4 years ago)
Hey, Himmat. Thank you so much for your feedback. Yes, I did an analogy in this video that I haven't done in any other video. Thank you for remembering that. Your support means a lot to me and your feedback is invaluable. Thanks again and keep in touch.
Vincent Huynh (4 years ago)
I dont like you, cause i just bought this...jk thank you for such an in depth review! Also where did you get yours?
Redolessence (4 years ago)
Hahahaha... I know the feeling all too well! Thanks for the kind words! Wear your new purchase in good health!
Vei L (4 years ago)
Very nice videos. I was wondering when apply amouage scents, how do you apply it? How close can one/should one spray from, if applying on the wrists?
Redolessence (4 years ago)
I would say moderately close when applying on the wrists and far when applying on other parts of the body. Amouage fragrances are pretty beastly in their performance, so you can afford to not concentrate the spray in a small area on your skin. Thanks for watching!
Joseph and Jeremiah (4 years ago)
Yet another intense and in depth review. I have been using a couple of Interlude samples lately and couldn't make up my mind, should I buy or not, well now after listening to you I have made up my mind....It's a buy. cheers. 
Redolessence (4 years ago)
Glad you're making a purchase you're satisfied with! Amouage is truly a great house and Interlude is a beast of a fragrance. You really get what you pay for. Thank you for the positive words, and I'm glad that I was able to help in some way. Keep in touch!
MsNikkieMichelle (4 years ago)
Another a plus review. I'm the type that (for the most part) wears anything that I like..wether that frag is marketed or geared more towards female or male...if I like it , I wear it. When it comes to Amouage I find myself attracted to more of the "male" counterparts. I have sampled interlude man and I love the juxtaposition of notes, it truly has some chaos and some order down to even the Box...it's chaotic but has an order to it as well. Really loved this frag. Unique, lasts forever, projects crazy good..and I love the composition. Anyways, I'll shut up now. Great review :)
Redolessence (4 years ago)
Haha... feel free to go on, if you'd like! I enjoy reading your comments. Chaotic indeed! I have a lot of respect for you wearing this fragrance despite marketing. There are a few women's fragrance I wear very comfortably despite the label. Boyfriend by Kate Walsh is one example. That one is a beautiful myrrh, and amber fragrance. Thank you for stopping by! Happy holidays!
Mohammad (5 years ago)
yeah forgot the spice rack
Redolessence (5 years ago)
Surprisingly, that describes the fragrance pretty well! I would throw spice rack in there too! Thanks for watching!
Redolessence (5 years ago)
Haha... odd indeed!
Mohammad (5 years ago)
like milk and honey with vanilla and a leather belt.
Mohammad (5 years ago)
Just had four birds sniffing this shit off my neck like some hypnotic thing. Very odd lol
Redolessence (5 years ago)
Thanks man! Performance on this thing is solid. Unfortunately, people don't take too well to it. Every time I wear it, even though i usually don't wear more than 2 or 3 sprays, my girlfriend tells me it's too "strong." I've personally never been complimented on it, but I'm optimistic! =)
blancindividuel (5 years ago)
You're welcome. Your reviews are excellent, by the way. I'm a new subscriber. What are your thoughts about Interlude Man and how people react to it when you wear it? I really love the stuff, but I sometimes wonder if it's too much of a good thing. Even just two sprays on me projects like crazy on me and lasts 24 hours. WOW. Cheers!
Redolessence (5 years ago)
You're absolutely right. I will mention in my future reviews if I've ever gotten complimented on a fragrance and if the compliment factor is high. What you said is the reason why I stumble across fragrance review on YouTube in the first place. Thanks for the feedback. =)
Redolessence (5 years ago)
BTW, I now own Jubilation XXV! lol. It's a great fragrance and undergoing the testing process. =)
blancindividuel (5 years ago)
Great review, but I wish you'd mentioned what others thought of Interlude when you wore it. Is it a compliment getter? Would you wear it on a date? What do women think of it on a man? That sort of info is really helpful, especially since it plays a big role in why people wear fragrances in the first place.
Redolessence (5 years ago)
Hey there. Thanks a ton for your kind words. It really means a lot to me that you enjoy watching my reviews. This is both a hobby and passion of mine, so I anticipate doing it for a long time. I currently don't own Jubilation XXV. I love the smell, but I only have a sample of it. It will be my next Amouage purchase though. Thanks again for watching, and keep in touch.
Redolessence (5 years ago)
Thank you for the kind words. This is a great fragrance! Keep in touch.
Redolessence (5 years ago)
Thanks man! Welcome to the Interlude club. I can't get enough of this fragrance. =)
rickysalsero (5 years ago)
Picked up a bottle for Xmas and never looked back,, Your review and Rene's are right on target describing this fragrance,,great review my man
Redolessence (5 years ago)
This fragrance has a very special effect on me too. I can't get enough of it, and even though I know I don't need to apply more than one or two sprays, I still overdose on it! It's truly beautiful, but not for everyone. Thanks for watching!
Mad Villain (5 years ago)
This is the most intoxicating fragrance in my collection. Every time I feel the need to get rid of it or just stop wearing it, I end up wearing it. lol No matter how much I want to not like it, I end up doing so.
Redolessence (5 years ago)
One of my favorites from the Amouage house! Thank you for stopping by! =) Keep in touch.
Rafick Bdaro (5 years ago)
Oh wow......Really busy my good sir!
Redolessence (5 years ago)
Haha, I know it's pricey. I have 3 jobs. I'm an English teacher, a tutor for two kids, and I work at a hardware store. This is really the only thing I spend my money on for recreation. =) Thanks for stopping by.
Rafick Bdaro (5 years ago)
Just curious, how do you afford all those scents? These types of scents cost from $250 and up!
Redolessence (5 years ago)
I had a feeling you would like it! I'm sure you can see how it's not for everyone and polarizing to say the least. I personally love the oregano/incense combo, and the opoponax dry-down is heavenly! Thank you fo all of your kind words. It means a lot to me. Congratulations on the new addition to the family, and please let me know if there's anything I can do for you. Happy holidays brother!
BoChosen (5 years ago)
Just received my decant for Interlude Man... WOW, fantastic juice! You nailed this fragrance man. Beautifully done and certainly bottle worthy. Thanks for your insight and keep bringing us the quality reviews you continuously post!
ToonZ91 (5 years ago)
I respect it for its complexity, but really, the opening does REALLY smell like smokey bbq on me. All is well and I hope you have a happy holiday as well :)

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.